New Weird Australia, Volume Five

The latest volume in the New Weird Australia compilation series is available now! Covering a vast range of sonic and geographical territory, Volume 5 includes new and unreleased tracks from Crab Smasher, Justice Yeldham, Gail Priest, Dot.AY, and heaps more. If you like what you hear, be sure to grab the first four releases in this series, they’re all awesome and completely free to download.

1. Mookoid – Hex River Valley
2. Dot.AY -You Knight
3. Peace Out! – Running On Sand, Walking On Water
4. Burning Palms – Mockery
5. The Atlas Room – Iris
6. ///▲▲▲\\\ – Spit Shine
7. Kate Carr – Textopera
8. Red Plum & Snow – I Would Die 4 U
9. Duns – Bad Rythm (sic)
10. Vorad Fils – Temple Leak
11. Justice Yeldham – March Of The Bodypumpers
12. Gail Priest – Etchings
13. Caught Ship – BlackHole/SweatBeat
14. Crab Smasher – Skin Destruction
15. Ripples – False Mission
16. Blake Freele – Inside There’s Expectations

Compiled by Stuart Buchanan & Danny Jumpertz.
Artwork by Kris Keogh

Standard Quality, 160 kbps (92 MB) | Higher Quality, 320kbps (138 MB)


New Weird Australia – Volume Two

The latest volume of the fantastic New Weird Australia free compilation series is now available, and once again it features a diverse selection of weird and wonderful tunes of the Australian underground musical landscape, this time around including unreleased tracks from our pals Lucia Draft (Morgan Cabot from The Night Of Love), Transmissions, and Cock Safari.

On one side, the world is sold on paradisal visions of Australian reefs and plains, care-free surfers racing down golden sands, and the classic long-shot of a sun-blemished Uluru. On the flip, with just as much fervour, we mythologise and peddle stories of perpetual gangland warfare, malevolent outback serial killers and dingoes eating babies for their morning snack.

If only the same warped duality could be brought to bear on the world’s vision of our musical worth. The exported track record is however largely one-sided – our place as the shiny, electro party-starter of the Southern Hemisphere is unrivalled, along with a seemingly endless passion for rock, culled from a 40-year old tombstone. Ask the world to identify a prominent Australian undercurrent and they will remain largely tight-lipped. Hence New Weird Australia – a project aimed as much at curating a contemporary library of alt-Australiana, as promoting that collection to the rest of the globe.

New Weird Australia Volume Two, September 2009, NWA002

1. OCEANS, 02 + 03 (5:11) From ‘Oceans’
2. GHOUL, Swimming Pool (Remix) (3:04) From ’Swimming Pool’
3. WILLIAM GARDINER, Sonance Arboreal (4:39) Previously unreleased
4. SAM PRICE, AutoHackney (5:28) From ‘Rand’
5. BROKEN CHIP, Summer Stars (5:06) From ‘POWWOW Seven’
6. KHARKOV, Crustacean (3:12) Previously unreleased
7. COCK SAFARI, 8MH (6:36) Previously unreleased
8. LUCIA DRAFT, Not Interested (1:16) Previously unreleased
9. MIELI, Hometime (3:34) Previously unreleased
10. KAROSHI, Re-Animate Me (2:44) Previously unreleased
11. NO ART, Fight In The Nocturnal House (3:56) Previously unreleased
12. TRANSMISSIONS, Staring At Lightning Strikes, Catching Every One (2:45) Previously unreleased
13. PANOPTIQUE ELECTRICAL, We Was Them (7:32) Previously unreleased
14. MADDEST KINGS ALIVE, Measels (4:05) Previously unreleased
15. SPLENDID FRIENDS, Holy Shears (1:42) From ‘Summer Moon Illusion’
16. PAUL FIOCOO, Torsions and Drifts (13:34) From ‘Torsions And Drifts’

Compiled by Stuart Buchanan & Danny Jumpertz
Artwork by Grant Hunter

Standard Quality, 192 kbps (103MB) | Higher Quality, 320kbps (159MB, via Rapidshare)