Crab Smasher – Thick Mosquito Sky

Crab Smasher have a new cassette out NOW, their first since 2007’s DOOM+DOOM=OMG!!! release. It’s called Thick Mosquito Sky and it’s really really good and warm and fuzzy. This C46 masterwork consists of a diverse selection of  improvised tracks culled from two separate live recording sessions in 2009. As is pretty typical of the band, here the confident and experienced super-quartet of Grant Hunter, Nicholas French, Marnie Vaughn, and Nathan Martin cover a broad spectrum of bizarro audio territory, exploring  everything from synthy-grindcore mania, electro pop blippertrons, classic rock jams, ambient drone snoozesfests, and scummy noise clunkeramas.

Limited to just 60 cassette copies with hand screened inserts by artist Sarah Mould. Get one now because these will go fast. Also available in a range of high quality digital formats from bandcamp for all of you that have ipods instead of walkmans.

1. the dancing girl and the burning town
2. europa
3. deep water attack
4. digging a hole in a dried up lake
5. spaghetti helmet
6. the ice
7. separated by the distance of oceans
8. snakes in the grass
9. the science of running really fast
10. battle of the bands

2 thoughts on “Crab Smasher – Thick Mosquito Sky

  1. Pingback: 28th, 29th May Weekend of Gigs: Crab Smasher, The Pocket, Jess Locke, Origami Girls – Lesstalk Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s