Polyfox And The Union Of The Most Ghosts – Enchanted Broccoli Forest



Yep, It’s been pretty quiet here at Monstera Deliciosa DIY music label and blatant self promotion empire, chalk it up to the sorry state of the music business perhaps? Anyway, we’re back with good reason! We are very happy to finally announce the release of the long awaited new EP by Polyfox And The Union Of The Most Ghosts which is adorably titled Enchanted Broccoli Forest. Consisting of 5 classic Polyfox tracks, this marks the first officially released recordings of Polyfox as a live band with Nicholas French packing away the casio MT-40 and loop station, instead joined by Nathan Martin on bass and guitar, and Grant Hunter on drums. Only a blithering fool would turn their noses up at this good time fun music that will surely enrich your miserable lives!

One day we went to Arthive and recorded drums with Grant’s laptop, we saved the wav files and probably put them on a flash drive. Some time afterwards we took it to Nathan’s garage which is converted into a rehearsal room. The reheasal room had 2 doors, one of which is a roller door.
When we were all in the garage/rehearsal room we put the drum tracks onto nathans laptop by dragging and dropping them into a folder that we created specifically for the songs. We then proceeded to utilise a program called ‘pro tools’ to record the other parts of the songs all of which i had pre ‘written’ in my bedroom in Umina/Ettalong beach where I live with my parents. My mum is a hairdresser and my dad is a painter/decorater, I don’t know what Grant’s mum does and I’m not really sure what his stepdad does either. They live in Gatton QLD which Grant informs me is a town of people that are mostly part of a cult that worship deities and ostracise any woman that remains unmarried in her 20s. I dont know what Grant’s biological dad does. I dont know what Nathan’s dad’s job is but I know he is an extrememly nice man that surfs and that once made me spaghetti on toast among other things I can’t remember him making for me.
After we recorded the songs they sat on all of our hard drives and various cdrs for a long time. Evan from ‘Bare Grillz’ was interested in hearing the songs so I uploaded them to mediafire and he downloaded them and thanked me.
For a while we entertained the notion of putting out a 7 inch record with these songs, but then we decided that probably no one would want it besides 10 or 20 people at the most and those 10 or 20 were likely to not buy it because 7 inches can cost up to and above 10 dollars, which is more than I could anticipate people wanting to pay.
Thankyou to Matt from Lesstalk Records who was going to put out the 7 inch and im sure deep down he is thanking us for not weighing down his record label with unsold stock.
I’m not sure if nathans copy of the software ‘pro tools’ is legitimate or not but it sure did have a lot of pop up messages which Nathan declined to read before ok-ing them away. Sometimes there were so many of these pop up messages the program would refuse to load up.
The day we recorded the vocals was a good day, everyone was in a really good mood.
At some point when Matt was mixing the tracks on his copy of the software ‘pro tools’ he used two small brown speakers as monitors which Grant thought was outrageous. One day i went over to Matt’s place in Sydney because Grant was unhappy with the mixes of some of the songs and i thought the drums were too quiet so we turned the drums and the vocals right up and settled on that for the mixes.
The song ‘marriage’ is not really about actual marriage I didnt really have anything insightful to say about marriage.
The song ‘creature comforts’ is about how comfortable a lion must feel about the fact that it is a lion, although i dont really think the lyrics reflect this.
The song ‘wood birds’ is an assortment of words that may seem to have been written and added to the song for a reason but this isn’t the case, I couldn’t think of anything else. I took some advice that i should put lyrics in my songs.
I have often claimed that the song ‘coal’ is about my brothers, but this isn’t true, it could be interpreted as though that it is because one of my brothers works in the mines.
‘Hawaii’ though really is about a holiday that my brother and his wife went on to celebrate their honeymoon.

-Nick French

Available now from Monstera Deliciosa in a limited edition of 50 cassettes for $5 each plus shipping. Order HERE. All cassettes come with free digital download in 320k MP3, FLAC, OGG VORBIS, AAC, ALAC formats redeemable through bandcamp. A CDR version will be available through Lesstalk Records soon.

Leave a Reply

